C++ pseudo code, header implementation and how-too videos are the reasons why I am not liking C++

While I am sure that C++ is a great language to knuckle down into memory allocation and stack organising but i you have no idea how to implement the language into headers and use the resulting functions correctly, it is all but useless.

That is the situation for me at the moment.  Over the last few weeks, I have been subtly expressing my rage with comments that C++ makes me want to be a Unity developer and I have finally understood the reason why.

My latest two inquiries into the realms of supposed knowledge in the C++ world have been about how to create and implement a quadtree and collisions using Box2D contact information.

There is a wealth of information out there about problems encountered with quadtrees, if you already know how to set them up.  There is ample pseudo code detailing what is happening with them.  There are several complete pieces of code that outline the headers and .cpp files but alas, they don’t quite fit the bill for me.

Wikipedia has a great section on Quadtrees : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quadtree

It includes some pseudo code to outline how they are made and how it is created, called and accessed.  The problem for me is that I haven’t the foggiest idea how I can implement this pseudo code into headers and then into viable functions.

Box2D seems to be amazing, but again, only if you know how to use it in the first place.  While there are “tutorials”, it seems that there is no clue how to implement the header file and not solutions for errors that arise from the inevitable mistakes in writing the code.  I know that people aren’t born with this remarkable understanding, but I am buggered if I can find out how they came across this knowledge.  It seems to be on some secret internet that I have no way to access.

Any attempts to try and locate tutorial videos only reveal the startling results that various programmers have achieved with what it is you are looking for.

My problem is that tutorials can be found for Unity that will step you through the process so that you know what you are doing and why.  This has led me to believe that, with the internet, tutorials and forums are set up for a vastly different user experience when it comes to Unity and C++.

Unity and c#/js videos will go the extra mile to make sure that the viewer knows what and why something is being done.  C++ forums are set up for experienced programmers experiencing unusual problems and how to troubleshoot those problems.  C++ “how-to” videos are almost non-existent and C++ forums do not seem to cater for inexperienced C++ programmers.  When they do try to help beginners, their language is hard to understand and their expectations of your knowledge is beyond my abilities.

Over the last 5 – 6 weeks, I have spent countless hours researching Quadtrees and other spacial partitioning methods, Box2d collisions, header bloat, Making a GUI interface, Networking, installing libraries into Visual Studio, installing omp into Visual Studio.

From those countless hours, I have achieved installing omp and libraries into VS and bits and pieces of code and pseudo code that I can’t implement.

The reason I am not liking C++ is because it feels like I am learning to code with heavy blinkers on my eyes and both hands tied behind my back.

If I should stumble across any user friendly C++ tutorials and sites, I will edit this post with their addresses, but I don’t expect you to hold your breath waiting for them.

Leave a Reply

